Amos, McKinney and Phillips Awards

NNA honors Alan Cruikshank with 2013 Amos Award

September 14, 2013

L. Alan Cruikshank was honored during the National Newspaper Association’s 2013 Annual Convention & Trade Show at the Arizona Grand Resort, where he was presented with the James O. Amos Award at the association’s business luncheon Sept. 14, in Phoenix, AZ.

Amos and McKinney Awards

Recognized as one of the highest and most distinguished tributes in community journalism, the Amos and McKinney Awards are presented to a working or retired newspaperman and woman who have provided distinguished service and leadership to the community press and their community.

Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award

The National Newspaper Association established this award in 2007 to honor Daniel Morris “Dan” Phillips, an award-winning writer and photographer who passed away in 2005 at the age of 47. He began his career as a staff writer at The Natchez Democrat before taking the job of managing editor for The Russellville (AL) Times. He returned to his family’s newspaper, The Oxford (MS) Eagle, in 1983 and was an assistant publisher and stockholder. He served in several leadership positions with the National Newspaper Association, including a term as president in 1999-2000, and was appointed to a second one-year at-large term on the NNA board for 2004-05. As president of the Mississippi Press Association in 1997-98, he was instrumental in forming the Mississippi Center for Freedom of Information, headquartered at the University of Mississippi. He was named among the “Top 40 Under 40” of state business leaders by the Mississippi Business Journal in 1998. That same year, the UM Department of Journalism recognized him as one of its top 50 alumni as part of the school’s 50th anniversary celebration.

The winner will be notified in July and the Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award will be presented at NNA's Annual Convention in the fall.

1 2 3
Web Design LVSYS - Copyright © 2020