National Newspaper Association Foundation

The National Newspaper Association Foundation (NNAF) is the educational arm of the National Newspaper Association (NNA). Its mission is to promote news literacy, protect the First Amendment, and enhance the quality, role and capabilities of community newspapers and community journalists.

NNAF Washington News Fellows

The NNAF and Michigan Press Association Foundation are pulling together the 2020 NNAF Fellowship in D.C. The theme is “Presidential Politics: a 20/20 View.”

This is an exciting opportunity for journalism students in your state. The program in 2020 can accommodate between six and eight Fellows. Fellows will need to have someone from your state attending the Summit who is willing to act as their host. Unlike years past, we will ask that you put the student up in the same hotel you are staying.

The plans for the Fellows are still coming together, but we anticipate that they will have access to some very interesting people who have insider knowledge about the workings of a presidential campaign. This is a unique opportunity for college journalists. It is designed to foster civic literacy and help early career journalists understand how to develop factual stories in the Nation’s Capital, where a wide variety of viewpoints with their own “spin” on the news dominates national debate.

The students will be assigned to produce a story for a local audience that demonstrates what they learn about presidential politics with an emphasis on the upcoming (or ongoing) cycle. They will have a mentor to help guide them through the process. The dates for the 2020 Fellowship are March 18-20.
If you are interested in sponsoring a Fellow, please know that you are responsible for travel costs including flight and ground transportation, hotel costs and the registration fee. The cost of registration includes a metro card, some meals and the closing dinner of the Summit. I estimate cost at between $1,500-$2,000 when Michigan sends a Fellow. We also provide some walking around money for meals not included, etc.

Deadline for reserving a spot is January 30, 2020. You can register your Fellow here: https://nna.formstack.com/forms/fellows2020

As a side note: If you have someone in your state who might be interested in mentoring a Fellow, please forward their information to lisa@michiganpress.org.
Any questions about the program can be addressed to the email above.

Newspapers In Education

We also help fund NNAF's Newspapers In Education program in partnership with the Missouri Press Foundation to provide serialized fiction and lesson plans for classroom use through 400 newspapers in 19 states.

How you can help

If you are interested in any of these specific programs or would like further information, please contact Reed Anfinson at reed@monitor-news.com. We hope you will include NNAF in your charitable giving this year. NNAF is a 501(c)(3) organization. Your gifts will be fully tax deductible.

Please mail your tax-deductible contribution to: National Newspaper Association Foundation, c/o Lynne Lance, 101 S. Palafox Pl. Unit 13323, Pensacola, FL 32591-7835, or call 1-850-542-7087.

If you would like to donate online to the National Newspaper Association Foundation, click below or contact any of the following individuals:

National Newspaper Association Foundation Trustees (2017-2018)

Officers

Reed Anfinson, NNAF President
Publisher, Swift County Monitor-News
Benson, MN
reed@monitor-news.com

Robert M. Williams Jr., NNAF Vice President
Pierce County Publishing Co.
Blackshear, GA
rwilliams@theblacksheartimes.com

William (Bill) Jacobs, NNAF Treasurer
Jacobs Properties
Brookhaven, MS
wojacobs@icloud.com

Merle Baranczyk, NNAF Secretary
Arkansas Valley Publishing Inc.
Salida, CO
merleb@avpsalida.com

Jerry Reppert, NNAF Immediate Past President
President, Reppert Publications
Anna, IL
jlreppert@annanews.com

 

Trustees

Larry Atkinson
President
Bridge City Publishing Inc.
Mobridge, SD
atkinson@mobridgetribune.com

Allen Beermann
Executive Director
Nebraska Press Association
Lincoln, NE
abeermann@nebpress.com

Mary Fisher
Fisher Publishing Inc.
Danville, AR
mfisher@arkwest.com

R. Jack Fishman
President
Lakeway Publishers Inc.
Morristown, TN
copyboy@lcs.net

Steve Haynes
President
Haynes Publishing Co.
Oberlin, KS
steve.haynes@nwkansas.com

William (Bill) Miller Sr.
Publisher
Missourian Publishing Company
Washington, MO
billmiller@emissourian.com

Will Norton, Jr.
Dean, Meek School of Journalism and New Media
University of Mississippi
University, MS
HWNorton1@gmail.com

Elizabeth (Liz) Parker, NNAF Immediate Past President
New Jersey Hills Media Group
Berardsville, NJ
eparker@newjerseyhills.com

Kenneth H. Rhoades
Co-Publisher
Enterprise Publishing Company
Blair, NE
krhoades@enterprisepub.com

Robert F. Sweeney
Publisher and Editor
Villager Newspapers, Inc.
Greenwood Village, CO
bsween1@aol.com

Honorary Trustees

Alan Cruikshank
Publisher
The Fountain Hills Times
Fountain Hills, AZ
alan@fhtimes.com

Dr. Edmund Ghareeb
Professor
Bethesda, MD
edmundghareeb@gmail.com

Ex-Officio

Tonda Rush
NNA CEO & General Counsel
Arlington, VA
trush@americanpressworks.com 

Carol Pierce
American PressWorks
Arlington, VA
carol@nna.org

 

Member Login

Login:
Password:
Email:
Publication:
Web Design LVSYS - Copyright © 2019